Colombia: Adventure Under the Knife

Hola Bellezas!

 By now you know that there are plenty of reasons to love Colombia! We have the most amazing food, the most exotic paradises, and of course the most fabulous party scenes. But there is another thing my country is known for… BOOB JOBS!

Colombia is quickly becoming the plastic surgery capital of the developing world. That’s right! Forget the heavenly beaches, the vibrant music, and the delicious coffee… next time you’re in Colombia, pick up a new set of boobs for your souvenir. Some hotels even partner with surgeons to offer you packaged deals like hotel, housekeeper, and three surgeries for one low fee of $10,000 USD. It blows my mind just thinking about it!

I’ve vowed to show you the real Colombia so now I will still take you on an adventure… this time under the knife.

There are five crucial things that you have to know about plastic surgery in my country.

1. Plastic Surgery and the Drug Cartel  

One of the most infamous Colombians is drug-lord Pablo Escobar. In the 1970’s and 1980’s, Escobar was one of the most atrocious criminals in the world. He was also one the wealthiest (worth over $30 BILLION USD!) and most powerful.Well, there is something else that Escobar loved along with his power and his money. He loved beautiful women… and girls (this page is in Spanish, but you can right click to translate it into English).  

Escobar would send his men to kidnap young women, usually ages 14-17 and always virgins, and bring them back to him. After having his way with them for 4-5 days, he would pay them off by offering large sums of money or cars. This would buy their silence and their loyalty as many of them were able to send the money home to their poor families. Or… they could use the money to further enhance their features, thus making themselves more appealing to the Escobar cartel and more likely to be protected. The women who remained loyal to Escobar became known as “Narco Novias” (Drug Brides).

2. Beauty is Armor

 

Escobar not only controlled much of the government and the economy, he now defined what is considered beautiful. Women who did not live up to his standards were at a higher risk of being killed so beauty became a form of protection. Big breasts and small waists, voluptuous lips and wrinkle-free brows were more desirable than ever. It was prime cutting season for the growing demand of plastic surgery.   

3. Plastic Surgery is Cheap

Now when Americans think of people who get plastic surgery, they think of rich celebrities who pay a fortune for a nose job or Botox. But in Colombia, plastic surgery is dirt cheap. So cheap in fact that poor farmers who can barely afford to put food on the table for their families, can afford to give their wife new breasts. Even though Escobar died in the early 1990s, his standard for beauty continues to permeate the culture. It was reported that in 2014, an estimated 357,000 surgeries were performed in Colombia, from breast implants to Botox.

4. Looks Can Buy You Social Status

In Colombia, the drug industry is still as lucrative as ever. According to Dr. Linda Triana, president of Colombian Plastic Surgery Society, the influx of drug money into the common society is what makes plastic surgery more acceptable for the rich and the poor. It’s helps shorten the gap between the two economic classes. Parents even buy plastic surgeries for the daughters’ birthdays, sometimes as young as 14 years old, in order to improve their status at school and in the future when they are ready to marry.

5. Earn a Higher Paycheck

Another result of the prevalence of plastic surgery is its relationship to prostitution. Many women resort to prostitution in order to survive the streets of the major cities like Bogotá, Medellín, and Cali. In their line of work, their looks earn them an income. And unfortunately, the bigger their boobs, the bigger their paychecks can be. Prepagos, meaning “prepaid,” are often “Ivy League” students who rely on prostitution as a way to pay for their school. “High-end prostitutes who’ve made a significant investment in their natural assets sometimes make more than $1,000 a day” (Hiraki, 2015).

Final Thoughts

Now, I don’t pass judgement on any of my friends and fellow Colombians who have gone under the knife. I understand the appeal! Growing up I would’ve done anything for a liposuction! Those teenage years when my body was changing were rough! I began to realize eating three cans of  Taco Pringles in a row had consequences. I couldn’t afford plastic surgery nor would my parents have allowed me to get one. I knew in their eyes I was beautiful and perfect and they constantly reminded me that my worth was found in God, but it was still a struggle. It’s so easy to change any little thing that isn’t to the “Colombian standard of beauty” because of how cheap and common it is. I constantly felt judged for not having long beautiful hair, killer abs, toned legs, huge boobs, and a super skinny waist. 

 

All that to say, I developed lots health issues (anemia, dry skin, hair loss) for excessive dieting in my teenage years. Eventually, my health problems forced me to see the need to live a healthy lifestyle. I was able to find the balance between taking good care of my body and not being a slave to vanity. It helped that my new backpacking hobby is nothing but an intense cardio work out that you actually enjoy!

So I just want my fellow Colombians to know that I think they are beautiful just the way God made them, and that no matter what they look like I still love them!

And to the foreigners who come to Colombia to see the sights and pick out a new nose, I really just laugh. Traveling to other countries for surgeries is often called “medical tourism,” but there is nothing touristy about lying in bed for a week while you heal from your booty enhancement!  There are so many better things to do in Colombia! Keep reading my blog to find out what you could do instead of liposuction!

Sofía María García Gomez

One comment

  1. Pingback: ZUMBALO! | Limitless Colombia

Leave a comment